About Us


ESPACOMP promotes the science of medication taking

ESPACOMP promotes the science of medication taking. To be more specific, the science of medication taking concerns people’s use of medications which have been prescribed to them. Hence, this science addresses amongst others the differences between healthcare providers’ prescriptions and patients’ use of those prescriptions, the reasons for medication non-adherence, the clinical and economic consequences of non-adherence, and the development and implementation of interventions to support adherence.

What does ESPACOMP to achieve this goal?

As a non-profit organisation, ESPACOMP therefore promotes the translation of medication adherence research into evidence-based policies, programs and practices that are useful to people taking medications, healthcare professionals, policy makers, and researchers in both public and private organisations. The society is a platform for interprofessional collaboration on adherence research. In addition, it provides training for researchers and practitioners to advance the evidence base on adherence to medications and its implementation in clinical practice.


In 1996, a group of scientists from Belgium and the Netherlands organized the Lowlands Symposium to share their research on patient compliance and persistence with prescribed therapy. This symposium has grown over the years, which above all reflects the increased interest for adherence related issues across Europe. In order to reflect the international expansion of the symposium, in 2006, the organizing committee decided to rename the symposium as the European Symposium on Patient Adherence Compliance and Persistence and to extend it to other European countries. In 2009, The European Society for Patient Adherence, Compliance, and Persistence was founded. The official name of ESPACOMP was changed to International Society for medication adherence in 2019.

Today, ESPACOMP is a growing interprofessional community focused on adherence research and practice. The yearly ESPACOMP conference has become the meeting place for an increasing number of international adherence researchers, healthcare professionals, pharmacoepidemiologists, statisticians, from both academia and industry. Different healthcare professions are represented in our membership, such as pharmacy, medicine, nursing, psychology.

Executive Committee

Leah Zullig

Health services researcher
Implementation scientist
Associate Professor in Population Health Sciences
Member of the Duke Cancer Institute
Duke University School of Medicine &
Durham Veterans Affairs Centre for
Health Services Research in Primary Care,

Liset van Dijk

Research Coordinator, Netherlands Institute for Health Services Research (NIVEL), Utrecht &
Professor of Pharmacy Health Services Research
University of Groningen
The Netherlands

Sabina de Geest

Professor of Nursing, Director of the Institute of Nursing Science (INS) &
Chair of the Department of Public Health, Faculty of Medicine
University of Basel, Switzerland
Professor of Nursing, Centre for Academic Nursing & Midwifery
Department of Public Health and Primary Care
Faculty of Medicine, KU Leuven, Belgium

Dyfrig Hughes

Professor of Pharmacoeconomics
School of Health Sciences
Bangor University
Wales, UK

Rob Heerdink

Associate Professor of Pharmacoepidemiology & Clinical Pharmacology
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Utrecht University,
Professor of Innovation in Healthcare Processes in Pharmacology
HU University of Applied Sciences Utrecht
The Netherlands

Enrica Menditto

Professor of Pharmacoeconomics
Department of Pharmacy
Naples, Italy

Todd Ruppar

Nurse Researcher
John L. and Helen Kellogg Professor of Nursing
College of Nursing
Rush University

Alex Dima

Miguel Servet Senior Researcher
Health Technology Assessment in Primary Care and Mental Health Research Group (PRISMA)
Barcelona, Spain

Filipa Costa

Assistant Professor
Researcher in therapeutic effectiveness
RON (National Oncology Register)
Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Lisbon
Lisbon Portugal

Robert Vander Stichele


Family Physician
Clinical Pharmacologist
Professor at Heymans Institute of Pharmacology
Department of Pharmacology

Honorary Members and Awardees

Memorial Lecture

A speaker is invited every year to deliver the John Urquhart Memorial Lecture

Poster Prizes

Every year, a prize is awarded to the most outstanding poster

Honorary Members

Honorary memberships are awarded for life in recognition of exceptional contributions to the society.